Bed and breakfast charm, the suite at the la maison du parc, Honfleur House Bed and Breakfast, bed and breakfast.

History of Honfleur 
A city nestled in lush greenery
Situated between two hills on the left bank of the mouth of the Seine, Honfleur is nestled in a "green environment" in the words of Henri de Regnier. Untouched by the ravages of the Second World War, the old city, the prestigious history, still retains its charm. Its port, its old streets, museums and historical and religious monuments are witnesses of a rich architectural foundations of the international reputation of the city.
The origins
"HONNEFLEU", former name of the city, draws its origin in the language of the Vikings. The etymologists have been various interpretations, the word "HON" or "HONN" was probably a surname, while the term "flow" which meant cove, creek or small estuary in Norse, has evolved into "FLEU", then " FLOWER "(as in the names of some common remote Barfleur Harfleur ...).
This port of estuary and sea port has determined its dual mission: defending the royal river and the start of great adventures on the ocean sea.

However, the cause remains unclear Honfleur
The first written record dates from 1027, it comes from Richard III, Duke of Normandy. Another document, preserved in London, shows that a century after the conquest of Duke Guillaume, Rouen, Honfleur, served as a transit port for goods to England.
At the end of the twelfth century, the town had four churches and two priests, pastors St. Stephen and St. Catherine, Our Lady and St Leonard.

Time of War
The great period of military Honfleur opens with the Hundred Years War. Given the strategic position of the city, King Charles V decided to make a defensive bastion against the invading English: he is making great works of fortification.
Moreover, the arms of the city are: Gules, a silver tower topped with a swirl of itself, flanked by two fleurs-de-lis of gold, the head of France.
During the reign of Charles V and Charles VI, the fortress played a defensive role, at the entrance of the Seine opposite to that of Harfleur. The port served during this time starting point to several military expeditions in England.
Honfleur, taken in 1419 by the British, was occupied until 1450 and liberated by the troops of Charles VII. The construction of the church Saint-Etienne was completed in 1432 during the British occupation. A few years later, an expedition of reprisal leads to devastation of the English town of Sandwich, now twinned with Honfleur. (Picture window above the church of Saint Etienne illustrating fire Castle on Gonneville Honfleur by Troops loyal to the King of France).

At the end of the fifteenth century, St. Catherine's Chapel, destroyed during the siege of 1450, is replaced by a wooden church, work of shipwrights.

The start time of the maritime
The ships have always held an important place in the activity of the city. In the eighteenth century until the mid nineteenth century, they were still flourishing.
At the end of the fifteenth century and early sixteenth century, the kings of France will help meet the city's ruins: the glorious maritime history of Honfleur can begin. Honfleur Sailors are now among the best in the kingdom. They have in their relationship rare Brotherhood of the famous Marco Polo. Charles VIII also wrote that Honfleur was "the biggest and best supply of ships of the country of Normandy.

At that time, great adventures and discoveries follow one another: in 1503 Binot Paulmier of Gonneville landfall in Brazil in 1506 and Jean Denis visited Newfoundland and the mouth of the St. Lawrence. The port is known as the gentle giant of Rabelais, Pantagruel, it embarks on the Kingdom of Utopia.

The wars of religion and the League
They will unfortunately generate major disruptions. Thus the Church of St. Leonard where Catholics had fled was partially burned, and many buildings around. Today the only remaining original building of the church in the Gothic portal and the narthex. The nave was destroyed in 1594 during the siege before the city by Henry IV.

In the early seventeenth century were built the Hotel Dieu, chapel and chapel Notre Dame de Grace, which replaces an oratory of the XI century resulted in the collapse of the cliff in the fourteenth century.

Large shipments continue
Particularly to Canada. The fishing for cod on the banks of Newfoundland and the mouth of the St. Lawrence existed. Fishermen bartering with the natives. Pierre de Chauvin, Dupont-Grave, Samuel de Champlain and other shipowners mount many expeditions to these remote regions. In 1608, Samuel de Champlain up a dispatch from Honfleur leading to the founding of Quebec.

At the end of the seventeenth century, most of the fortifications dismantled on orders from Colbert and the port is growing: the ancient harbor basin becomes afloat, built on plans of Duquesne. This Old Basin today.

In the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, the prosperous port through trade with Canada, the Caribbean, the African coast and the Azores. Throughout this period, Honfleur is a very active center for pilots, owners, traders and even pirates.

three large granaries were built Salt
For permission to Colbert, they replace old Granary smaller. Built to receive the salt of the salt tax and the salt needed for fishing, the walls are made of stones from the destruction of the ramparts. Only two granaries remain.

At the same time, the home of Lieutenant King, now known under the name of the Governor, is built on the basin of the port of Caen.

During this period, two major figures of mariners have shown Honfleur: Pierre Berthelot, "pilot major and geographer of the King of Portugal, became a monk under the name" Denis of the Nativity, martyred in Sumatra, beatified in 1900, and Jean Francois Doublet, Officer of the Royal and fellow privateer Jean Bart of Dunkirk.

By the Treaty of Paris ended the Seven Years War, France loses Canada: the port's activity is affected. Trade with the Caribbean is growing. Honfleur is the 5th eighteenth century slave port in France.

The wars of the Revolution and the Empire almost completely ruined the port. When peace returned, the business took off with the first half of the nineteenth century the import of timber and later North exotic woods.

Time Painters
The nineteenth century Honfleur will give a new claim to fame. Early in the century, painters, influenced by English landscape painters, working in Honfleur. They are attracted by the beauty of the setting and the picturesque harbor life. Camille Corot, Eugène Isabey, Huet Paul were among the first to stay there.

Around Alexandre Dubourg and Eugene Boudin, Honfleur born respectively in 1821 and 1824, formed an artistic circle whose place of rendezvous is the Ferme Saint-Simeon. Boudin it draws its famous pastel skies of the estuary, both admired by Baudelaire.

Courbet, Monet, Jongkind find them at informal gatherings (from 1850 to 1875) now designated as the "School of Honfleur, rightly regarded as a cradle of Impressionism.

In the second half of the nineteenth century, born in Honfleur historian Albert Sorel, the poet Henri de Regnier both academicians, Lucie Delarue-Mardrus, the humorist Alphonse Allais and the musician Erik Satie, one of the fathers of modern music .

Tucked between two hills, the town has gradually extended a hand towards the sea and the other backward countries and plateaus that dominate it. The arrival of the Normandy Bridge, which connects the two shores of the estuary will create a new European axis of communication between North and South, supporting the future industrial and tourism Honfleur. Honfleur, Harbor Pays d'Auge and the Côte Fleurie, retains its original character, which inspired many poets and writers:

"I like the platform of Honfleur and its old Air France
Scales gables, porch with wood sides,
The brown-roofed house which was the Lieutenancy.

Édouard Herriot

"Honfleur once in full hope
its major marine bearing in sitting,
today can not deprive
with its painters and poets. "

Katia Granoff

The old dock Honfleur

Honfleur Old Basin

Satie House  

Les Maisons Satie home to a scenic route and original musical tribute to the musician and composer Erik Satie was born in these places in 1866.

Muséum Eugene Boudin 

INFORMATION
Address: Place Erik Satie - BP 80,049 to 14,602 Honfleur Cedex.
T. 02 31 89 54 00
F. 02 31 89 54 06

The NATUROSPACE

Located 400m from the Honfleur Old Basin, the Naturospace is bordered by a large free parking

The gardens of Honfleur

Nestled in lush greenery ...
Honfleur is a city-oriented nature that is revealed through its gardens, its pier, its beach but also the surrounding forests ... 

The neighborhood and the church St. Leonard

The Saint-Léonard overlooking the library and the local Tourist Office and is distinguished by the presence of a large church dedicated to St. Leonard, a young man in the court of Clovis, patron saint of prisoners.


guest house of charmLa maison du parc  76 Rue Saint Leonard 14600 Honfleur              06 01 86 56 80
Cliquez ici pour vous abonner à ce flux RSS
Contact:olomana108@hotmail.com

HISTOIRE SUR HONFLEUR, LA MAISON DU PARC MAISON D' HOTES DE CHARME

Historique de Honfleur 
Une ville nichée dans un écrin de verdure 
Située entre deux collines, sur la rive gauche de l'embouchure de la Seine, Honfleur se niche dans un "écrin de verdure", comme l'écrivait Henri de Régnier. Épargnée par les destructions de la seconde guerre mondiale, la vieille cité, au passé historique prestigieux, conserve aujourd'hui tout son charme. Son port, ses vieilles rues, ses musées et ses monuments historiques et religieux sont les témoins d'une richesse architecturale, fondements de la renommée internationale de la ville.
Les Origines 
"HONNEFLEU", ancien nom de la ville, puise son origine dans la langue des Vikings. Les étymologistes en ont fait diverses interprétations, le mot "HON" ou "HONN" était probablement un patronyme, alors que le terme "FLOW" qui signifiait anse, crique ou petit estuaire en norois, a évolué pour devenir "FLEU", puis "FLEUR" (comme dans les noms de communes peu éloignées Barfleur, Harfleur...).
Cette situation de port d'estuaire et de port de mer a déterminé sa double vocation : la défense du fleuve royal et le départ des grandes aventures sur la mer océane.

Néanmoins, l'origine de Honfleur demeure mal connue 
Le premier document écrit date de 1027, il émane de Richard III, Duc de Normandie. Un autre document, conservé à Londres, prouve qu'un siècle après la conquête du Duc Guillaume, Honfleur avec Rouen, servait de port de transit de marchandises vers l'Angleterre.
A la fin du XIIème siècle, la ville possédait quatre paroisses et deux prêtres curés Saint Etienne et Sainte Catherine, Notre Dame et Saint Léonard.

Le Temps des Guerres
  La grande période militaire de Honfleur s'ouvre avec la guerre de Cent Ans. En raison de la position stratégique de la ville, le Roi Charles V décide d'en faire un bastion défensif contre les envahisseurs anglais : il fait effectuer de grands travaux de fortification.
D'ailleurs, les armes de la ville sont : De gueules à la tour d'argent surmontée d'un tourbillon de même, accostée de deux fleurs de lys d'or, au chef de France.
Pendant le règne de Charles V et de Charles VI, la forteresse joue un rôle défensif, à l'entrée de la Seine face à celle de Harfleur. Le port servit durant cette époque de base de départ à plusieurs expéditions militaires en Angleterre.
Honfleur, prise en 1419 par les anglais, fut occupée jusqu'en 1450 et libérée par les troupes de Charles VII. La construction de l'église Saint-Étienne fut terminée en 1432, pendant l'occupation anglaise. Quelques années plus tard, une expédition de représailles aboutit au saccage de la ville anglaise de Sandwich, aujourd'hui jumelée avec Honfleur.(Photo ci-dessus vitrail de l'église Saint Etienne illustrant l'incendie du château de Gonneville sur Honfleur par les troupes fidèles au Roi de France).

A la fin du XVe siècle, la Chapelle Sainte Catherine, détruite pendant le siège de 1450, est remplacée par une église en bois, oeuvre des charpentiers de marine.

Les débuts de l'époque maritime 
Les constructions navales ont toujours tenu une place importante dans l'activité de la cité. Au XVIIIème siècle et jusqu'à la moitié du XIXéme siècle, elles étaient encore florissantes.
A la fin du XVème siècle et au début du XVIème siècle, les Rois de France vont contribuer à relever la ville de ses ruines : la glorieuse histoire maritime de Honfleur peut débuter. Les marins honfleurais sont alors parmi les meilleurs du royaume. Ils possèdent dans leur Confrérie la relation rarissime du fameux Marco Polo. Charles VIII écrira d'ailleurs que Honfleur a "le plus grand et le meilleur apport de navires du Pays de Normandie".

A cette époque, les grandes aventures et les grandes découvertes se succèdent : en 1503 Binot Paulmier de Gonneville atteint les côtes du Brésil et en 1506 Jean Denis visite Terre-Neuve et l'embouchure du Saint-Laurent. La renommée du port est telle que le bon géant de Rabelais, Pantagruel, s'y embarque pour le Royaume d'Utopie.

Les guerres de religion et de la Ligue 
  Elles vont malheureusement générer de grandes perturbations. C'est ainsi que l'église Saint-Léonard où s'étaient réfugiés des Catholiques fut en partie brûlée, ainsi que de nombreux immeubles aux alentours. Aujourd'hui ne subsistent de la construction originelle de l'église en gothique flamboyant que le portail et le narthex. La nef fut détruite en 1594, lors du siège mis devant la ville par Henry IV.

Au début du XVIIème siècle sont édifiées l'Hôtel Dieu, sa chapelle et la chapelle Notre Dame de Grâce qui remplace un oratoire du Xième siècle entraîné dans l'éboulement de la falaise au XIVème siècle.

Les grandes expéditions continuent 
Notamment vers le Canada. Les campagnes de pêche à la morue sur les bancs de Terre-Neuve et à l'embouchure du Saint-Laurent existaient déjà. Les pêcheurs pratiquaient le troc avec les indigènes. Pierre de Chauvin, Dupont-Gravé, Samuel de Champlain et d'autres armateurs montent de nombreuses expéditions vers ces contrées lointaines. En 1608, Samuel de Champlain monte une expédition au départ de Honfleur qui aboutit à la fondation de Québec.

A la fin du XVIIème siècle, la plus grande partie des fortifications est démantelée sur ordre de Colbert et le port s'agrandit : l'ancien havre devient bassin à flots, construit sur les plans de Duquesne. C'est le Vieux Bassin d'aujourd'hui.

Au XVIIème et XVIIIème siècles, le port prospère grâce au commerce avec le Canada, les Antilles, les côtes africaines et les Açores. Pendant toute cette période, Honfleur est un centre très actif de pilotes, d'armateurs, de négociants et même de corsaires.

trois grands Greniers à Sel sont édifiés 
Par autorisation de Colbert, ils remplacent d'anciens Greniers plus petits. Construits pour recevoir le sel de la Gabelle et le sel nécessaire à la pêche, les murs sont constitués de pierres provenant de la destruction des remparts. Seuls deux Greniers subsistent encore.

A la même époque, la maison du Lieutenant du Roi, aujourd'hui connue sous le nom de Lieutenance, est construite sur le bassin de la porte de Caen.

Durant cette période, deux grandes figures de marins ont illustrés Honfleur : Pierre Berthelot, "pilote major et cosmographe du Roi du Portugal", devenu Moine sous le nom de "Denis de la Nativité", martyrisé à Sumatra, béatifié en 1900, et Jean-François Doublet, Officier de la Royale, corsaire et compagnon du dunkerquois Jean Bart.

Par le traité de Paris qui mit fin à la guerre de Sept ans, la France perd le Canada : l'activité du port s'en ressent. Le commerce avec les Antilles s'amplifie. Honfleur est au XVIIIème siècle le 5e port négrier de France.

Les guerres de la Révolution et de l'Empire ruinèrent presque complètement le port. La paix revenue, l'essor commercial reprit avec dans la première moitié du XIXe siècle l'importation du bois du Nord et plus tard des bois exotiques.

Le Temps des Peintres 
Le XIXème siècle va donner à Honfleur un nouveau titre de gloire. Dès le début du siècle, des peintres, influencés par les paysagistes anglais, travaillent à Honfleur. Ils sont attirés par la beauté du cadre et par le pittoresque de la vie du port. Camille Corot, Eugène Isabey, Paul Huet furent parmi les premiers à y séjourner.

Autour d'Alexandre Dubourg et d'Eugène Boudin, nés à Honfleur respectivement en 1821 et 1824, se forme un cercle artistique dont le lieu de rendez-vous est la Ferme Saint-Siméon. Boudin y dessine au pastel ses célèbres ciels de l'estuaire, tant admirés de Baudelaire.

Courbet, Monet, Jongkind s'y retrouvent lors de rencontres amicales (de 1850 à 1875) désignées maintenant sous le nom de "l'École de Honfleur", considérée à juste titre comme un des berceaux de l'Impressionnisme.

Dans la seconde moitié du XIXème siècle naissent à Honfleur l'historien Albert Sorel, le poète Henri de Régnier tous deux Académiciens, Lucie Delarue-Mardrus, l'humoriste Alphonse Allais et le musicien Erik Satie, l'un des pères de la musique moderne.

Enserrée entre deux collines, la ville s'est étendue petit à petit d'une part vers la mer et d'autre part vers l'arrière pays et les plateaux qui la dominent. L'arrivée du Pont de Normandie qui relie les deux rives de l'estuaire va créer un nouvel axe européen de communication Nord/Sud, confortant l'avenir industriel et touristique de Honfleur. Honfleur, Port du Pays d'Auge et Porte de la Côte Fleurie, garde son cachet originel qui inspira de nombreux poètes et écrivains :

"J'aime le quai de Honfleur et son air vieille France
Ses pignons écaillés, le porche à pans de bois,
Ce logis aux toits bruns qui fut la Lieutenance."

Édouard Herriot

"Honfleur jadis en plein espoir,
ses grands marins portant en sise,
ne saurait aujourd'hui déchoir
avec ses peintres et ses poètes."

Katia Granoff

Le vieux bassin de Honfleur

Honfleur le vieux bassin

Maison Satie

Les Maisons Satie abritent un parcours scénographique et musical original rendant hommage au musicien et compositeur Erik Satie né en ces lieux, en 1866.

Musée Eugene Boudin

RENSEIGNEMENTS
Adresse : Place Erik Satie - BP 80049 - 14602 Honfleur Cedex.
T. 02 31 89 54 00
F. 02 31 89 54 06

lLe naturospace

Situé à Honfleur à 400m du vieux bassin, le Naturospace est bordé par un grand parking gratuit

Les jardins de Honfleur

Nichée dans un écrin de verdure... 
Honfleur est une ville tournée vers la nature qui se découvre au travers de ses jardins, sa jetée, sa plage mais aussi ses bois environnants...

Le quartier et L'église  saint Leonard

Le quartier Saint-Léonard surplombe la médiathèque et les locaux de l'Office de Tourisme et se distingue notamment par la présence de son imposante église, consacrée à Saint-Léonard, jeune homme de la cour de Clovis, Saint patron des prisonniers.


Honfleur Maison D'hotes de charme 
 
La maison du parc  76 Rue Saint Leonard 14600 Honfleur              06 80 54 59 76
Cliquez ici pour vous abonner à ce flux RSS
Contact: lamaisondupark@gmail.com